Hello from Basa, Nepal

A recent trek over the Rupina La (Pass)

Welcome to my blog. I am Buddiraj Rai, a professional guide in the Himalayas of Tibet and Nepal. I’ve decided to start a blog because I know that people don’t know my country or the Himalayas as well as they could and I would like to change that.

Bienvenue sur mon blog. Je m’appelle Buddiraj Rai et je suis guide professionnel dans l’Himalaya, au Népal comme au Tibet. J’ai décidé de créer un blog car j’aimerais que mon pays et l’Himalaya soient mieux connus de tous.

I’m from the small village of Basa, Nepal located in the Arun Valley, which is part of the Solukhumbu District, home to the largest mountain on earth, Everest.

Je viens du village de Basa au Népal. Basa se situe dans la vallée de l’Arun, qui se situe elle-même dans le district du Solukhumbu, où s’érige la plus montagne du monde, Mont Everest.

I have chosen to call my blog “Natural Himalayas” because this is what I try very hard to give to my clients. I have been working in all aspects of trekking for fifteen years and I have been to many wonderful, natural places in both Tibet and Nepal. It is a wonderful profession for my personality and interests.

J’ai décidé d’appeler mon blog “Natural Himalayas” parce que c’est ce que j’essaie de donner à mes clients: la nature dans l’Himalaya. Je travaille dans l’industrie du “trekking” depuis quinze ans et je suis allé dans de magnifiques et naturelles contrées au Tibet et au Népal. Etre guide est une formidable profession qui correspond à ma personnalité et à mes centres d’intérêts.

This entry was posted in Being a guide. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hello from Basa, Nepal

  1. Jeff Rasley says:

    Buddi is a wonderful person and excellent guide. I did the Pike Peak – Basa Village trek with him last year. It was a beautiful trek and especially satisfying because we delivered the equipment to build a hydroelectric system near Basa. Lights were turned on in Basa in March, and I look forward to returning in October.

    It was also fun meeting Buddi’s family in Basa. His father is a respected Shaman in charge of the Kali Devi shrine outside of the village.

    My life has been enriched by the relationships I have developed with friends in Basa.

  2. Jennifer says:

    Hello! My name is Jennifer and I’m an architect in the U.S. working with Architecture for Humanity and Edge of 7 on a new school project for Basa that will hopefully be built in the beginning of 2012. We are looking to connect with local residents to get their input on the design. Would you be interested in emailing with us?

Leave a Reply

